April 17, 2021

My News on Point

Daily News Update From Top News Blog Around The World | Your News on The Go

Cricket: England legend Sarah Taylor signs up for The Hundred

2 min read

England great Sarah Taylor will represent Welsh Fire in this summer’s The Hundred (Picture: Getty)

Former England wicketkeeper-batsman Sarah Taylor, considered one of the all-time greats of women’s cricket, has signed up for this summer’s The Hundred competition.

The 31-year-old, who retired from international cricket in 2019, will represent Welsh Fire in the new 100-ball tournament.

‘I’m so excited at the prospect of playing again,’ she said. ‘It’ll be really special to get back out there and be part of a Welsh Fire side that hopefully can have a great first season.’

One of England’s greatest ever keepers, Taylor made 226 international appearances, including 10 Tests, 126 ODIs and 90 IT20s.

She won three Ashes series and two World Cups in 2009 and 2017 and, at the time of her retirement, nobody in the women’s game had affected more dismissals in all formats than her 232.

Taylor amassed 6,533 international runs with seven centuries and 36 fifties and is currently the 10th all-time run scorer in both ODI and IT20s.

Recently, she became the first female skills coach of a men’s county team, working as wicketkeeping coach at Sussex.

Taylor established herself as an England great before retiring from international cricket (Picture: Getty)

‘There has been a real buzz about The Hundred, and especially the women’s competition,’ Taylor added. ‘We’ve got the best players from around the world involved and the temptation to be part of it was too great to resist.’

Taylor will be joined at Welsh Fire by spinner Georgia Wareham, who has played 48 matches for Australia, taking 53 wickets.

Wareham said: ‘I’m really excited to be signed by Welsh Fire. Playing with the likes of Sarah Taylor and Katie George will be a great experience and I can’t wait to get going in Cardiff this summer.’

The Hundred will feature eight brand new teams from seven cities – Welsh Fire (Cardiff), Southern Brave (Southampton), Northern Superchargers (Leeds), London Spirit, Trent Rockets (Nottingham), Oval Invincibles (London), Manchester Originals and Birmingham Phoenix – with men’s and women’s competitions taking place side by side.

Fore more information and tickets visit

Follow Metro Sport across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

For more stories like this, check our sport page.

Source link

Facebook Comments Box

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *