February 24, 2021

My News on Point

Daily News Update From Top News Blog Around The World | Your News on The Go

2021 Welsh Open Snooker draw, schedule, TV channel, prize money and odds

4 min read

Shaun Murphy is looking to defend the Ray Reardon Trophy he won at the Welsh Open last year (Picture: Getty)

The Welsh Open begins on Monday morning at its new home of Celtic Manor in Newport, becoming the first tournament of the season not to be held in Milton Keynes.

The prestigious event always attracts a stellar cast but the big names will be raring to go as much as ever this week as they enjoy a change of scenery from the Marshall Arena.

This year’s tournament will be a memorable one, but also a sad one, as Welsh legend Doug Mountjoy passed away on the eve of the competition getting underway and the former UK and Masters champion will be on the minds of players this week.

Shaun Murphy arrives as the defending champion but the likes of Judd Trump, Ronnie O’Sullivan, Mark Selby and Neil Robertson will be looking to take home the Ray Reardon Trophy.

When is the Welsh Open?

The Welsh Open runs from Monday 15 – Sunday 21 February.

Welsh Open draw and schedule

Monday 15 February

10:00 Lee Walker v Mark Davis
10:00 Andy Hicks v David Lilley
10:00 Simon Lichtenberg v Riley Parsons
10:00 Li Hang v Martin O’Donnell
10:00 Allan Taylor v Pang Junxu
10:00 Ding Junhui v Lyu Haotian
10:00 Joe Perry v Chang Bingyu
10:00 Elliot Slessor v Ben Fortey
12:00 Matthew Selt v Lukas Kleckers
12:00 Liang Wenbo v Joe O’Connor
13:00 Shaun Murphy v Zak Surety
13:00 James Cahill v Matthew Stevens
13:00 Sean Maddocks v Jamie O’Neill
13:00 Eden Sharav v Andrew Higginson
14:00 Anthony McGill v Louis Heathcote
14:00 Brian Ochoiski v Paul S Davison
14:00 Gary Wilson v Ashley Hugill
14:00 Xiao Guodong v Iulian Boiko
14:00 Judd Trump v Zhao Jianbo
16:30 Barry Hawkins v Chris Wakelin
16:30 Jordan Brown v Luo Honghao
16:30 Alexander Ursenbacher v Noppon Saengkham
16:30 John Higgins v Steven Hallworth
19:00 Mark Selby v Barry Pinches
19:00 Jak Jones v Fan Zhengyi
19:00 Michael Holt v David Grace
19:00 Yuan SiJun v Jamie Jones
19:00 Zhao Xintong v Luca Brecel
20:00 Stephen Maguire v Dominic Dale
20:00 Si Jiahui v Brandon Sargeant
20:00 Peter Lines v Hossein Vafaei
20:00 Mark Allen v Fraser Patrick

Tuesday 16 February

10:00 Stuart Carrington v Soheil Vahedi
10:00 Ryan Day v Ian Burns
10:00 Jamie Clarke v Oliver Lines
10:00 Jamie Curtis-Barrett v Liam Highfield
10:00 Lu Ning v Dylan Emery
10:00 Sunny Akani v Igor Figueiredo
10:00 Jack Lisowski v Lei Peifan
12:00 Ricky Walden v Jackson Page
12:00 Graeme Dott v Billy Joe Castle
13:00 Stuart Bingham v Robert Milkins
13:00 Mark Williams v Michael White
13:00 Tom Ford v Peter Devlin
13:00 Fergal O’Brien v Aaron Hill
14:00 Tian Pengfei v Alan McManus
14:00 Nigel Bond v Rod Lawler
14:00 David Gilbert v Rory McLeod
14:00 Ronnie O’Sullivan v Robbie Williams
16:30 Yan Bingtao v Xu Si
16:30 Ali Carter v Daniel Wells
16:30 Scott Donaldson v Gao Yang
16:30 Gerard Greene v Farakh Ajaib
19:00 Thepchaiya Un-Nooh v Sam Craigie
19:00 Neil Robertson v Mark King
19:00 Anthony Hamilton v Ben Hancorn
19:00 Jamie Wilson v Duane Jones
19:00 Jimmy Robertson v Kacper Filipiak
20:00 Kyren Wilson v Chen Zifan
20:00 Zhou Yuelong v Ashley Carty
20:00 Martin Gould v Mitchell Mann
20:00 Mark Joyce v Jimmy White

Wed 17 Feb: Round 2
Thu 18 Feb: Rounds 3&$
Fri 19 Feb: Quarter-finals
Sat 20 Feb: Semi-finals
Sun 21 Feb: Final

Welsh Open TV channel and live stream

Eurosport and the BBC will be covering the event with streaming available on Eurosport Player and some sessions on the BBC website.

The BBC coverage will be on the red button.

Ronnie O’Sullivan has won the Welsh Open four times (Picture: Getty Images)

Welsh Open prize money

Winner: £70,000
Runner-up: £30,000
Semi-final: £20,000
Quarter-final: £10,000
Last 16: £7,500
Last 32: £4,000
Last 64: £3,000
Highest break: £5,000

MORE : Ryan Day: Complacency is a flaw in my character but I was never going down without a fight

MORE : Ali Carter with superb comeback to reach Championship League Snooker Winners’ Group

Follow Metro Sport across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

For more stories like this, check our sport page.

Source link

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *